Before the Flood and Being Pro-Life

Last week National Geographic released the Leonardo DiCaprio and Fisher Stevens film, Before the Flood on YouTube and other platforms. Personally, I have been crying out for a movie like this. I knew about climate change but always felt like I didn’t know enough. I wanted to know what was going on in the world and what I could do to prevent the increase of global warming. So I am very grateful to everyone involved in the making of this film.

I haven’t always been so keen on finding out about climate change. It was actually last year that the thought occurred to me that people are dying and many more will die if we keep on using fossil fuel like we are today. I think my recent desire to find out more about climate change has come in part by the work and campaigning of Tearfund and Christian Aid. Now and again I would see leaflets in magazines produced by the charities, I failed to give them much attention but I did notice them. But whatever brought me to the position I hold now on the issue, I have been trying to reduce my use of fossil fuels this year.

I would consider myself pro-life. I think when pro-life is mentioned most think of people who want abortion to be made illegal. Well, that isn’t me, personally, I think abortion should be dealt with a case by case basis. But being pro-life doesn’t start and end with abortion. Relevant Magazine recently published an article by Jesse Carey about how being pro-life is more than just one issue. Carey mentions a few of the issues and acknowledges that there are more that he hasn’t mentioned. I think one of the issues that he didn’t mention is climate change. I don’t think you can describe yourself as someone who is pro-life if you aren’t doing your part to bring down the use of fossil fuel, and definitely if you’re a climate change denialist.

I think the Republicans Party would be associated with being pro-life. Yet they are also the only major political party that denies our use of energy and fossil fuel destroying life. Thankfully – as demonstrated by Before the Floor – not every Republican denies that this man made disaster isn’t happening, but the majority do. It is very easy to result to name calling and anger when reading and hearing what climate denialists are saying. But doing such things are pointless because it won’t change anyone’s mind. I try to have the humble attitude that my opinion could be wrong for I don’t know anything. But when one reads and hears the reasons from those who reject the idea that climate change, I can only shake my head in disbelief. I try to understand why someone thinks differently but I can’t on this issue for it seems so obvious to me – climate change is real and we are to blame for it.

Back in 2009, it was revealed that climate change was responsible for the deaths of 300,000 people. The World Health Organization states that in the next forty-five years there will be 250,000 additional deaths per year from malnutrition, malaria, diarrhoea and heat stress due to climate change. Yet the ‘pro-life’ Republican leaders don’t even acknowledge climate change, let alone support measures to bring down the use of fossil fuel.

Contact me at onthisblog@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

